Join ADAMember Log In

Dr. Faiella is ADA president-elect

Dr. Faiella: The House of Delegates elected him ADA president-elect today.
Photos by EZ Event Photography
Dr. Robert  A. Faiella of Osterville, Mass., was elected ADA president-elect for 2011-12 in balloting today at the House of Delegates, meeting this week in Las Vegas.

In two other races, Dr. Kenneth J. Versman of Aurora, Colo., was elected second vice president, and Dr. J. Thomas Soliday of Gaithersburg, Md., was re-elected speaker of the House, a post he has held since first elected in 2002.

When the election results were announced in the House today, the new president-elect, who has represented the 1st Trustee District on the Board of Trustees, thanked his district and the House "for the honor you have bestowed on me" and pledged to work every day to prove himself worthy of that honor.

Dr. Versman
In addition to his work as a trustee, Dr. Faiella has served on the ADA Council on Dental Benefit Programs, the ADA National Healthcare Information Infrastructure Task Force and the ADA Essential Oral Health Care Needs Task Force.

He is a past president of the Massachusetts Dental Society, former general chair of the Yankee Dental Congress and former consultant to the MDS Council on Government Affairs. He is a fellow in the American College of Dentists, the International College of Dentists and the Academy of Osseointegration.

Dr. Versman represented the 14th Trustee District on the Board of Trustees until his election today as second vice president.

He is a past president of the Colorado Dental Association, Rocky Mountain Society of Periodontists, North American Society of Periodontists, Denver Academy of Clinical Dentistry and also served on the Colorado State Board of Dental Examiners.

Dr. Soliday
At the ADA, he has served on the Council on Members Insurance and Retirement Programs and as an ADA delegates.

Dr. Soliday begins his 10th and final years as ADA speaker. In years past, he was served as parliamentarian for the Maryland State Dental Association and speaker of the House of Delegates of the American Association of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons.

He is a past president of the MSDA, Southern Maryland Dental Society and the Maryland Society of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery.